top of page

Top 5 Horror Games (2014-2015)


Damn PhuCattt, back at it again with the best blogs! OMG I DIDN'T SEE THAT COMING! PhuCat for president 2016! Best comedian/satirist/youtuber in the world! Sorry, I was just a little irritated by a faggot from high school and how everyone thought he was funny when he's just a bullying cunt. Let's get on today's topic! My top 5 horror games of 2014 and 2015. You know, it's difficult to impress me. I've pissed some game developers off when I'm just giving constructive criticism, but plot twist! I can be impressed and I can get scared at some games! Here's my top 5 horror games that actually made me feel uneasy and afraid.

5.) Five Nights at Freddy's

As much as I hate to admit it, Five Nights at Freddy's did get me some good scares! Back in Summer 2014, it was something completely different compared to all of the horror games I've played back in those days! Before Scott Cawthon became famous out of this series, he was a cool chill dude! He would give us full access to the game and I couldn't have been any happier about it! I was one of the first few people to play his game along with Jim Sterling and Stoedan. I used to always talk about how this game was so underrated and deserved the attention. Well if you didn't know by now, it's fucking extremely popular and full of cancer nowadays! But regardless, this game does give a creepy vibe to it if it's your first time playing it and you're not expecting the out of no where jumpscares from screwing up on closing the doors quick enough for when Freddy Fazbear surpringly jump scares you on the right side of the security door office. Story doesn't make all too much sense and it's a bit retarded to be quite honest. I mean I would've stopped working there after the first night, but the man is so dedicated that he strives to go back for six more nights. What a beast!

4.) ImScared: A Pixelated Nightmare

I know I've overreacted with this game back then especially with Workshop Edition, but this game truly was scary! I might have not expressed it in my last playthrough of it, but I did get the goosebumps from it! Creepy dead pixelated atmosphere with terrifying ambience to it. Not to mention a lot of fourth wall breaking! Those parts of the game are very well done! Using YouTube videos to hint what to do next, notepad map, deleting files in order to continue the story, and changing the real time to go on the train? Like damn! I haven't seen a horror game go this far into progressing further in a video game! I have absolutely no idea why I reacted like such a faggot to HER when White Face was a lot scarier to deal with. In fact, I'd bang HER! Seriousy though, White Face made the game a thousand times more terrifying than any of the other characters that have been used in the game. This might be weird out of all things, but the part that generally creeps me out the most was that music that plays while you're running through the hallway at the beginning of the game. When I'm not recording the playthrough just to go back to get trophies, I had my headphones off because my ears fear quit to the music that plays in the game, so I would listen to music on my iPhone to break away that feared feeling.

3.) Halloween: The Game

Up to the point where you have to face Michael Myers in the dark suburban home, I didn't want to continue on, but I decided to move on anyway due to the fact that I was recording a Let's Play over the game. Usually, I wouldn't make two parts of a short horror game like this, but I was that afraid to continue. I had to take a 30 minute break before going back into this game. Michael Myers can basically spawn anywhere in the house except, I think, the save room where you make a save progress with a VHS tape. So you don't know how to expect the scares and he's sort of overpowered with his knife attacking and you have to be EXTREMELY cautious on what room you need to go to in order to move on to the next level. I can't decide what part was scarier for me between spamming the spacebar to catch Billy boy's attention while Michael Myers was coming closer or going down the dumbwaiter to collect items in order to get rid of Michael Myers.. Both were truly intense unsettling moments! Maybe I'll come back to this one day on a livestream and see if I'm not as terrified since it has been nearly two years since I last played this.

2.) Outlast: Whistleblower

This is just the DLC alone, gave me some unexpected scares throughout the playthrough series. Could be walking through a corner and BOOM! Jumpscare with some gut explosion. About to open a door and BOOM! Another unpredictable jumpscare since the character model doesn't even open the door or even slam it. The door just fucking unspawns and the bad guy is right there holding you down. Eddie Gluskin was one chilling antagonist as if he was from those 10/10 sick horror movies with his thoughts of cutting off genitals and just leaving a disgusting mess as if this was that scene from Cannibal Holocaust when the Yanomami group cut some film crew dude into pieces and ate him as if it was a buffet (Don't watch it, my eyes couldn't handle that disgusting shit.) The original game itself wasn't even near close to competing with it's DLC. Red Barrels did a wonderful job at keeping two gameplays in a bad-bad situation. By bad-bad, I mean you either deal with the disgusting terrifying gameplay and have a good ending or you don't that bad of scares from the original and end up having a bad ending. I'm excited to see what's in store for Outlast 2!

1.) White Day: A Labyrinth Named School

Hands down, the scariest game I've played. The ominous Asian music, threats become more terrifying as you complete a level, puzzles can sorta be a pain in the ass which builds more fear and stress, and the unfortunate "you can run, but you can't hide" game with the janitor. Absolutely brilliant! But it's not a surprise since it's an old game from like 2001 and horror games of the older generation tend to be a lot scarier and keep the player distressed without having any breaks throughout the gameplay besides a limitation of saving like Resident Evil where you have to find more ink for a typewriter or some shit. At some point before the official release of this game, the developer had to tone down the scare factor of this because no one would play his game for it was too terrifying to play and complete.

And that's going to be it for my top 5 horror games of 2014/2015! With still early into 2016, we got a lot more interesting horror games coming down the pipeline as we speak. Friday The 13th, White Day Remake, Outlast 2, Allison Road, etc. Let's see what the next top 5 horror games will be and if they can top this top 5!

- PhuCatGeek


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page